Watercooler – Heard Around the Watercooler

 -  3

13 Irvington High School students who took the National Greek Exam (the only standardized exam on ancient Greek in the country) received awards for their scores. The highly competitive exam was administered in two categories, Beginning Attic Greek and Intermediate Attic Greek; students answered a series of multiple-choice questions that tested their reading comprehension, analysis, and ability to understand ancient Greek and apply their knowledge to English grammar and vocabulary. Based on the students’ scores, Irvington High School was the highest ranked public school and placed sixth among 39 other schools nationwide. Clara Montgomery and Nicholas Panjwani received red ribbons for High Honors in intermediate Greek; Naomi Gordon received the green ribbon for Honors. Stephanie Ades, Zoe Mermelstein and Eleni Papapanou received blue ribbons for Highest Honors in beginning Greek; Sofia Bazdekis received the red ribbon for High Honors; and Hope Gray, Yeesoon Jeon, Samantha Lapine and Atsuyo Shimizu received green ribbons for Honors.

Tarrytown resident Maria Eberhardt has been accepted into the Greater Westchester Youth Elementary Strings Orchestra. This highly competitive ensemble has been training string players in grades 4-6 for over 50 years and performs regularly at prestigious venues in the New York metro area, including Lincoln Center. Maria is a 4th grader at Transfiguration School and a violin student of Joyce Balint at Mozartina Conservatory, both in Tarrytown.


Josephine Kelly
Josephine Kelly

Irvington Main Street School 5th grader Josephine Kelly was honored as “one of the brightest young students in the world” at an awards ceremony on May 21 at Rutgers University in New Brunswick, NJ, sponsored by Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth (CTY). Josephine was recognized for scoring exceptionally high on a rigorous, above-level testing when, as a 4th grader, she took a SCAT 6th grade level test.

The Sleepy Hollow Tarrytown Chamber of Commerce presented their annual scholarship to Sleepy Hollow High School student Whanda Camacho. Whanda won the scholarship with an essay about her community involvement and how it impacted her life. She plans to attend Westchester Community College to study elementary education.

Irvington High School sophomores presented their research projects at the 2016 Westlake Science Fair on June 4 and took home top prizes. Nicole Chase placed 2nd in the Earth/planetary science category, William Pascal placed 3rd in the cellular/molecular biology category, and Claire Song placed 3rd in the medicine/health category. They competed against more than 460 first-year science research students from 28 schools throughout Westchester County.

Sleepy Hollow High School senior Spencer Sands was honored in a special ceremony with school officials (complete with cap, gown and diploma) after learning that his rowing team, RowAmerica Rye (a rowing club with team members from throughout the Westchester region), was selected for possible placement in the World Rowing Championships (having won the USRowing Youth National Championships) and would be headed to Portland, Oregon at the time of his high school graduation. Spencer will attend Princeton University this fall as an undergraduate.

Irvington’s Main Street School held a ribbon-cutting ceremony for the school’s garden on June 21. 5th-grader Riley Annicharico told guests that the idea for the garden grew when a group of students expressed an interest in having a space where they could read, reflect and sit with friends during recess. To raise money for the garden, students sold raffles and flowers at talent shows and concerts, and held an ice cream fundraiser. The Irvington Education Foundation also supported the project through an off-cycle grant.

The Rotary Club of the Tarrytowns serving Irvington, Sleepy Hollow and Tarrytown last month installed new officers for 2016-17. Rabbi David Holtz will serve as President, replacing Immediate Past President, Margaret Black. President-Elect (for the following term) is Fred Salek. Ginny Hayes becomes Secretary, and Laura Murray remains as Treasurer. Mimi Godwin, Aubrey Hawes, Andres Valdespino and Alexandra Reilly are Directors-at-Large.

Please send submissions about distinctions and honors given to local community members to: thewatercooler@thehudsonindependent.com

3 recommended
0 notes
bookmark icon

Write a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *