Watercooler – Heard Around the Watercooler

 -  27

Watercooler-Seusical-PAGE-10Congratulations to Sleepy Hollow High School for winning 12 Metro Award nominations for its 2016 musical, “Seussical!” including Best Overall Production. Henry Titcomb was nominated as Best Actor in a Leading Role for his performance as the Cat in the Hat; Zoe Kaplan was nominated for Best Actress in a Leading Role as Gertrude McFuzz; and Francis Pace-Nunez, who played Horton the Elephant, was nominated for Best Male Acting Role. Also nominated were Samantha Marie Beadle for Best Child Acting Performance as Elephant Bird, Sleepy Hollow’s student orchestra, Julie Colangelo-Dore in the Best Director category, Brittney Trenczer for Best Musical Direction, Camille Marchini for Best Costume Design, David Dileo for Best Lighting Design, Zach Dore for Best Scenic Design, Zoe Kaplan for Best Student Critic, and Camille Marchini for Best Technical Merit, a category nominated by other teachers.

The Metros are the high school equivalent of the Tony Awards in the Lower Hudson Valley and honor work performed at participating schools in Rockland, Putnam, Westchester and Bergen counties. The Metros ceremony will take place on June 6 at Archbishop Stepinac High School in White Plains. In addition to SHHS’s “Seussical!,” other nominees for Best Overall Production are Stepinac’s “Sister Act,” Hastings’ “Les Miserables,” Harrison’s “Guys and Dolls,” Pleasantville’s “Carousel,” and Fair Lawn’s “Chaplin.”

The Westchester Municipal Planning Federation named Tarrytown resident David Aukland a Distinguished Citizen Planner at a dinner on June 2. Aukland has been a member of the Tarrytown Planning Board since 2006, and a co-chair of the Village’s Station Area Study. He is also a member of the Tree Commission. Aukland represented Tarrytown on the selection committee for the Tappan Zee Bridge rebuild design.

Irvington High School has been awarded a gold medal in the 2016 U.S. News & World Report Best High Schools competition, earning a 35th-place ranking in New York State and a ranking of 198 out of the 21,000 high schools in the nation. This prestigious contest evaluates schools based upon college readiness, graduation rate, participation in Advanced Placement courses, and state proficiency standards.

Students in the Sleepy Hollow High School Jazz Band received a perfect score, “Gold with Distinction,” at the New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA) Major Ensemble festival held at Fox Lane High School. This was the first time the Jazz Band has performed at NYSSMA Majors.

Two physicians at Phelps Memorial Hospital Center have been appointed to medical leadership roles. Craig Zalvan, MD of Briarcliff Manor, has been appointed to the post of Chief of Otorhinolaryngology; and Chappaqua resident, Jack Hershman, MD, FACS, has been appointed as Chief of Urology at Phelps Memorial Hospital Center.

Irvington eighth grader Zachary Rosman was honored “as one of the brightest young students in the world” at an awards ceremony on May 14th at Columbia University sponsored by the Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth (CTY). Rosman was recognized for scoring exceptionally high on a rigorous, above-grade-level test. As part of the CTY Talent Search, seventh and eighth graders representing over 60 countries take the SAT or ACT, the same tests used for college admissions.

Tarrytown social worker Sherry Saturno wrote and produced a short documentary film, “Human Investment,” which has won the national 2016 NASW Media Award for Best Documentary via the National Association of Social Workers (NASW). The film examines what drives physicians, nurses, social workers, educators, and other professionals to invest themselves in helping others, and explores what motivates professionals to dedicate themselves to the humanity of care. The National Association of Social Workers is the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world.

At the recent Tarrytown Salvation Army annual breakfast at the DoubleTree Hotel,

Donald Whitely, along with Captain Giovanny Guerrero and Captain Ester Guerrero, presented the LifeTime Achievement Award to Reverend Dr. John H. Gilmore, Pastor of New Hope Institutional Baptist Church in Tarrytown; the Community Service Award to Joe Arduino, Recreation Director and Supervisor for the Village of Tarrytown; and the Corporate Award to Prestige Brands, headquartered in Tarrytown. Keynote speaker was Envoy Charles Roberts.

Slapering Hol Press (SHP), the small press imprint of The Hudson Valley Writers’ Center, and one of the oldest chapbook publishers in the country, has extended the deadline for the 2016 Slapering Hol Press Chapbook Competition to June 15. Guidelines for the contest (for poets who have not published their work in book form), are available on the Writers’ Center website: www.writerscenter.org. Past winners and finalists of The Slapering Hol Press Chapbook Competition have proceeded to gain national recognition after publication.

Please send submissions about distinctions and honors given to local community members to: thewatercooler@thehudsonindependent.com

27 recommended
0 notes
bookmark icon

Write a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *