Donate to The Hudson Independent
Community News
Rivertowns Sports
School News

Athletes Honored at Sleepy Hollow Sports Award Dinner

• Bookmarks: 70

July 2, 2015

AD Chuck Scarpulla with Joe Good, Sarah McCarthy and Mike Fortugno.
AD Chuck Scarpulla with Joe Good, Sarah McCarthy and Mike Fortugno.

|  by Kevin Brown  | Sleepy Hollow High School continues to amaze with its broad offerings of theater, music and sports.  Theater and music end the school year with remarkable performances. Sports ends the year with the annual Varsity Sports Awards Dinner.

“We have over 400 people here tonight. This dinner started 23 years ago with Jello and cookies when the sports boosters decided that all competitors deserved an honor. To see it grow like this is so exciting,” said Mimi Godwin, President of the Board of Education. 

Athletic Director Chuck Scarpulla proudly said, “This year’s group of athletes stood out not only because they were competitive in every sport but also because the kids were so actively involved in community service. I had so much pride seeing them all volunteer when we hosted the Special Olympics at Sleepy Hollow and the work they do with the Pioneer League.”

Sleepy Hollow Sports has expanded in recent years to include a competitive Boys Lacrosse team, a combined Hockey team, and a ski team.  For the first time ever, one Sleepy Hollow student competed on a combined Gymnastics team with Ossining gymnasts. 

The Pioneer League includes a group of special needs athletes. They compete across the spectrum of sports against other schools with similar programs. This year’s Pioneer League team went undefeated in several sports and won a host of awards. 

Here is a list of students recognized for their achievement in Sleepy Hollow sports:

Doc Rasback Track Award: Danny Elia

Hockey Awards: Stephen Kern, Daniel Yawman, Hunter Burnett, Liam Sullivan

Marybeth McGuire Pioneer Award: Nythia  Shoeya

Phyllis Porcano Fontana Softball Award: Sarah  McCarthy

Margot Irish Volleyball Award: Lauren Vallo

Robin Birrittella Memorial Volleyball Award: Shaylin Best

Joseph J. Fusilli Football Scholarship Award: Isaac Javier

Superintendent’s Award: Shaylin Best, Jordan Brown, Jason Cai, Michael Fortugno, Joe Good, Jane Malloy, Sarah McCarthy, Jack McGovern, Maggie Miles, Brendan Murphy, Adelmarie Santana, Sonya Smith, Molly Von Heill, Daniel Yawman.

Rookie of the Year Award: Sara Clark and Luis Espinal

Unsung Hero Award: Daniel Yawman and Molly Von Heill

Rotary Club Jack McCleery Sportsmanship Award: Danny Elia and Shaylin Best

Senior Athletes of the Year Award:Sarah McCarthy, Joe Good, Mike Fortugno

Read or leave a comment on this story...

Andrea Martone - Tarrytown, Sleepy Hollow real estate agent

Apartment Plan Near Tarrytown Train Station to Include More Affordable Units

By Rick Pezzullo--- The developer of a multi-family rental project proposed at 29 South Depot Plaza in Tarrytown has agreed...
Read More

Sleepy Hollow Trustee Race Gets Crowded

By Barrett Seaman— There are three open seats up for grabs in the March 19th election for the Sleepy Hollow...
Read More

Monster Mash

Monster Mash: When you bring the dead back to life By Krista Madsen– I have a confession to make that will get...
Read More

Annual Polar Plunges Raise $90K for Worthy Causes

By Rick Pezzullo--- Dozens of brave souls recently stripped down to take a dip in the frigid Hudson River for...
Read More

Irvington Police Crack String of Auto Burglaries

By Barrett Seaman— A recent string of thefts from unlocked cars, mainly on Dogwood and Sycamore in Irvington, had yielded...
Read More

Harrison to Retire from Irvington School District

By Rick Pezzullo---- Dr. Kristopher Harrison, who has led the Irvington School District for the last 12 years, is retiring...
Read More

Redistricting Commission Proposes (Not-So) New Map

By Barrett Seaman--- After months of hearings and internal deliberations, the New York State Independent Redistricting Commission (NYIRC), led by...
Read More

Five Champion Wrestlers Put Sleepy Hollow on the Map

By Tom Pedulla-- Silas Corveddu had done well merely to reach the Section 1 Division 2 championships on Feb. 10...
Read More

Masters Boys Basketball Is Earning Respect

By Tom Pedulla-- If it takes a tooth or two for The Masters School to continue its ascent in boys’...
Read More

TEENSCAPE 2024 – 7th & 8th Grade Summer Travel Camp

TEENSCAPE is a travel camp for current 7th & 8th graders. The program includes two sessions that are varied enough...
Read More
70 recommended
bookmark icon