Watercooler – October 2016

 -  20


Watercooler_ColorJack Rjeili, a 2016 Sleepy Hollow High
School graduate, won first place in the
Natural Category of the American Association
of Physics’ Teachers Photo Contest.
Rjeili’s winning photo, Snow Sheet, depicts
a snowdrift at the entrance of Sleepy
Hollow High School; his physics teacher
at SHHS was Leila Madani. To view the
winning photo and read about the physics
that Rjeili attributed to the snowdrift’s
unique composition, visit: http://www.


The Irvington High School Model UN
delegation was named one of the top 150
teams in the country after their participation
in a highly competitive North American
conference in the region, held during
the 2015-16 school year. “This accomplishment
is due to the hard work and dedication
of student leaders Nora Burkhardt and
Maxwell Johnson, both graduates of the
Class of 2016, and all the student delegates
who have participated in the program,”
said Courtney Geelan, advisor for the club.

Last year, the team received an award for
Outstanding Large Delegation at the prestigious
Boston Invitational Model United
Nations Conference (BosMUN), which
Geelan said helped propel Irvington High
School to the ranking. The club is led this
year by head delegates Emma DeRose and
Shivay Parekh, as well as Cleo Davidowitz,
Remy Mermelstein, Zoe Mermelstein, Jordan
Schwed, Gabe Siegel and Kieran Sullivan.


Longtime Tarrytown resident Neil Fitzpatrick
will be inducted into the Westchester
Sports Hall of Fame on October 20th
at the Westchester County Center in White
Plains. Fitzpatrick spent 30 years as Ardsley
High School’s baseball coach and was
the founder of the school’s soccer team. He
won numerous baseball Coach of the Year
awards, took his team to six back-to-back
sectional championships, and won the state
championship four years consecutively.

Fitzpatrick’s students describe him as having
inspired them with his honesty and
respect. Three other 2016 inductees will
join Fitzpatrick: Internationally-acclaimed
soccer referee and Yonkers resident Gino
D’Ippolito; Archbishop Stepinac High
School athletic director/physical education
chair and football coach Michael
O’Donnell; and Ossining High School
girls’ basketball and boys football coach
Dan Ricci. The four inductees were chosen
from a pool of 80 nominees. In order to
be nominated, each must be a person of
good character who has gained prominence
in either professional or amateur sports as
a player, coach, manager, official, owner,
writer or broadcaster. The induction event
is open to the public and begins at 5:30 pm
with a cocktail reception, followed by dinner
and the induction ceremony. Price is
$80 per person. Reservations are required;
the deadline for reservations is October
14. For more information, call (914) 231-4564.


Sherry Saturno, LNHA, LCSW, of Tarrytown
has been awarded the 2016 Champion
of Social Justice Award by the National
Association of Social Workers (NASW) for
the State of New York. Saturno is the director
of social services at Sprain Brook Manor
in Scarsdale and will receive the award this
fall at the NASW Statewide Conference in
Albany. The Champion of Social Justice
Award is presented to an individual for outstanding
advocacy on behalf of vulnerable
and oppressed groups. Saturno is a board
member of the Westchester End of Life Coalition
and holds master’s degrees from Columbia
and Long Island Universities. She is
a former National Palliative and End of Life
Care Fellowship Recipient at New York
University Silver School of Social Work.

Please send submissions about distinctions
and honors given to local community
members to: thewatercooler@thehudsonindependent.com

20 recommended
0 notes
bookmark icon

Write a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *